Featured Image for How to watch the royal wedding on TV in Australia
Pulse

How to watch the royal wedding on TV in Australia

After months of build-up, Prince Harry will be marrying Meghan Markle on May 19 at Windsor Castle, England.

Although it’s a bit far for us to pay our best wishes to the newlyweds ourselves, the royal wedding will be televised on a number of channels across Australia. 

Wherever you are, you’ll be able to watch it.

Here’s how:

On ABC

From 19:30 AEST/17:30 AWST/19:00 ACST, ABC will be broadcasting the royal wedding live from Windsor.

Annabel Crabb and Jeremy Fernandez will be in the middle of the action, with royal experts on air to give their own views of the day.

On Channel 7

Channel 7’s broadcast will commence at 19:00 AEST/17:00 AWST/18:30 ACST from a purpose-built platform with views across Windsor.

Sunrise will be broadcasting all week from various locations across England, with the event culminating on Saturday evening outside Windsor Castle.

On Channel 9

The build-up to the royal wedding on Channel 9 begins at 19:00 AEST/17:00 AWST/18:30 ACST.

Included in their panel of experts are Dickie Arbiter, previous media manager of Prince Charles and Princess Diana; and Royal photographer Arthur Edwards.

On Fox8 (Foxtel) and The Comedy Channel

If you’re looking for something more light-hearted, both Foxtel and The Comedy Channel will be showing the royal wedding with the Parsadena broadcasting dreamteam, Cord Hosenbeck and Tish Cattigan.

The pair were internationally celebrated for their coverage of the annual Rose Parade, so it makes perfect sense for them to host the wedding of the year for viewers.

The broadcast will start at 21:30 AEST/19:30 AWST/21:00 ACST.

Australian viewers will also be able to live stream the royal wedding of Prince Harry to Meghan Markle.

The royal wedding of Prince William to Kate Middleton was watched online and on TV by approximately 2 billion viewers across the world.

With Prince Harry currently sixth in line to the throne, the viewing figures are not expected to be as high.

However, there is no doubt the international element of the wedding will attract huge attention from British and American citizens.

However you watch the royal wedding, we recommend accompanying it with champagne, strawberries and cream.

Do as the Brits do.

About the author

Alice is a Londoner who quit her 9 – 5 job and bought a one way ticket to Sydney. Usually found pining after Leonardo DiCaprio, drinking red wine and keeping her Instagram “on point” via @alicesantics .

Videos trending right now

In partnership with our friends at Glenmorangie, our sister site Lost At E Minor presents the second episode in the We Are The World We Create podcast series, dedicated to celebrating those people, and their exceptional creations, that help make the world a more interesting place. In this episode, Bigsy speaks with Sons of the East about changing perceptions, rethinking the way you play an instrument, and what’s next for them. Listen now!

Leave a comment