A new “snooze button” allows you to temporarily hide friends, groups or pages from your timeline for 24 hours, 7 days or 30 days.
We’ve all been in that uncomfortable situation when that pal you adore just keeps bombarding your feed with pictures of his kid’s birthday. I know I know, I’m a terrible person, but I bet many of us have gone through the same predicament.
You love your friends, you love their children, their house and their pets. But it no way, shape or form does that have to equate to you having to endure 235 pictures of a chihuahua dressed as a sailor.
TechCrunch spotted the new feature a few hours ago on Facebook’s desktop site in the U.S. and a spokesperson from the company confirmed later on that the button was currently in testing phase. “We’re testing new ways to give people control over their News Feeds so they can stay connected with the stories they find most relevant.”
You’ll find the Snooze option when you tap the drop-down arrow at the top right of someone’s post. Now the unfollow option appears as “Unfollow or Snooze.” When you tap that, you can choose whether you want to snooze someone for a day, a week, a month or permanently unfollow them.
I still have to try it out on my own, but initially, the option seems like the perfect middle ground solution when you can’t come up with the courage to unfollow or unfriend somebody permanently. Pages and groups can also benefit from the new button, as people will have the opportunity of filtering their announcements without the need of abandoning their flock altogether.
New cool features aside, may I take this opportunity to remind you that Facebook’s business is basically to KNOW absolutely EVERYTHING about you? So most probably, this new snooze button is just another tool at their disposal to record behavioral information to profile you better. Yeah, nice guy Zuckerberg.